Welcome to the Original Classic Barbers
This is the Original Classic Barbers above the Elbow Inn, Second home to the Ska, Mods, Punks, Teddy Boys and a lot of Dublin bands back in the day! Pic taken 1972
The Classic barbers was established in 1961, deriving from the 1950’s barber shop The Moore Head. Bernard Maher and Liam Kennedy joined forces to produce a very unique style of hair cutting, thriving through the 60’s hair styles and gaining respect in the industry the two barbers pushed on through the 1970’s with long hair coming into fashion a lot of other barbershops were under pressure to stay in business, then in the early 80’s when Bernard and Liam made their name with the young rebellious generation and the Classic Barbers was the place to go. A place where different gangs collided, different people and styles rubbed shoulders in anticipation , waiting for their turn to get either a tennis ball skinhead , flat top or Rockabilly… whatever is was, they did it.
A fire in Mary Street in 1986 that saw the business move down to the corner of Mary Street. and Capel Street. across the road from Slatterys Early House and still exists today. It still has that unique feel and has the old school techniques to produce top quality haircuts efficiently
Wash & Cut